Header Image
Home < Events & Activities < Event Calendar < St. Lawrence String Quartet

St. Lawrence String Quartet

  • St. Lawrence String Quartet 2 5 16 2

Widely recognized as a world-class chamber ensemble, the St. Lawrence String Quartet has a reputation for innovative and surprising music. The quartet, which is the Ensemble in Residence at Stanford University, is committed to playing works by established and up-and-coming composers, following a mission to "bring every piece of music to the audience in vivid color, with pronounced communication and teamwork, and great respect to the composer." The New Yorker says "the St. Lawrence are remarkable not simply for the quality of their music making, exalted as it is, but for the joy they take in the act of connection." Adds The New York Times, "Brilliant….the performance showed not only virtuosity, intelligence and imagination but also extraordinary passion."


Geoff Nuttall, violin                                 Lesley Robertson, viola
Owen Dalby, violin                                  Christopher Costanza, cello

Program credits:     The St. Lawrence String Quartet appears by arrangement with David Rowe Artists    www.davidroweartists.com

St. Lawrence String recordings can be heard on EMI Classics and ArtistShare (www.artistshare.com)

The St. Lawrence String Quartet is Ensemble-in-Residence at Stanford University www.slsq.com


Haydn Discovery
The “father” of the string quartet, Haydn is too often regarded as an opening act; pleasant music before the “meat” of the program.  In Haydn Discovery Geoff Nuttall and his St. Lawrence String Quartet colleagues will reveal Haydn’s genius, first unpacking this masterpiece via “active listening”, then offering a full performance.

String Quartet in C major, Op. 76, No. 3 "Emperor"                                      Franz Josef Haydn                                                                                                                            1732-1809
            Poco adagio cantabile
            Menuet.  Allegro & Trio
            Finale.  Presto


Second Quartet                                                                                                   John Adam                                                                                                                                     b. 1947
            Allegro molto

String Quartet in Eb-Major, Op. 33, No. 2 (Hob.III.38) "The Joke"                 Franz Josef Haydn
            Allegro moderato
            Scherzo.  Allegro
            Largo e sostenuto
            Finale.  Presto

Program Notes
MUSIC LINKS, NEWS, REVIEWS, & MORE: Website, Washington Post review


Presented By

WUD Performing Arts Logo

WUD Performing Arts

See All

Restaurants Nearby

Microcosm Cafe

Microbial Sciences Building

Daily Scoop in Memorial Union

Memorial Union

See All

More Music Events